20 Teams Set for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024


The cricketing world is abuzz with excitement as Uganda’s triumphant nine-wicket victory against Rwanda has not only ensured a top-two finish in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa qualifier but also marked their historic entry into the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. This victory solidifies Uganda’s position among the elite 20 teams that will compete in the prestigious tournament to be held in the USA and West Indies. Joining Namibia from the Africa qualifier, these nations are set to make history as the Men’s T20 World Cup expands to feature 20 teams for the very first time.

Uganda’s Journey to Glory:

In their historic win against Rwanda, Uganda displayed remarkable prowess in the Africa qualifier, securing victories in four out of five fixtures. Their triumphant journey saw them overcoming formidable opponents such as Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Nigeria, and Kenya. However, their only setback came against fellow co-qualifiers Namibia, who remain unbeaten in the tournament thus far.

The Decisive Match: In the crucial encounter against Rwanda, Uganda showcased an exceptional bowling performance, with Alpesh Ramjani, Brian Masaba, Henry Ssenyondo, and Dinesh Nakrani each contributing with two wickets. This collective effort bundled out Rwanda for a mere 65 runs in 18.5 overs after Uganda opted to field first. The Ugandan batsmen, led by Simon Ssesazi, Ronak Patel, and Roger Mukasa, then efficiently chased down the target in just 8.1 overs with an impressive 71 balls to spare.

Qualified Teams for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024:

The final list of teams that have secured their places in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 includes cricket powerhouses like Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Uganda, and the United States of America (USA).

Format of the Tournament:

In a groundbreaking move, the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will witness the participation of 20 teams, divided into four groups of five. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super Eight phase, where the remaining teams will be split into two groups of four. The top two teams from each Super Eight group will then progress to the semi-finals, culminating in an exhilarating showdown.

As the cricketing fraternity eagerly awaits the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, Uganda’s inclusion among the 20 participating teams adds a touch of underdog excitement to the tournament. With an expanded format and a diverse array of cricketing talent, the stage is set for an unforgettable cricketing spectacle in the USA and West Indies. Stay tuned for updates and witness history in the making as these nations vie for T20 supremacy.

Scroll to Top